Welcome to The Western Iowa Synod

Situated on lush farmland, nestled within and east of the rolling Loess Hills and the storied Missouri River, the Western Iowa Synod is one of 3 ELCA Synods in Iowa and one of 65 ELCA Synods in the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

With a diverse and faith-filled history of native people and early settlers from Europe, we are joyfully called as servants to accompany over 50,000 baptized members, 122 congregations and their leaders in guiding all people to God’s saving grace.


The congregations of the Synod are currently grouped into six Conferences. Conferences are responsible for developing and sharing programs with and for the congregations. They are also about the work of encouraging a spirit of mutuality in ministry among the congregations and between the congregations and the synod.

To this end, each Conference meets and selects conference leaders. The conference also nominates leaders to serve on Synod Council, boards and synod committees.

Congregations in Transition/Call Process


St. John, Essex

St. Paul, Manson

Trinity, Moville


Hope, Sioux Center

St. John, Sioux City

Soldier, Soldier 

Bethany, Spencer

Mamrelund, Stanton  

Open served by pulpit supply or Synod Authorized Minister

St. John, Albert City

Immanuel, Alta

Trinity, Boxholm

Bethesda, Clarinda

Ascension, Coon Rapids

Emmanuel, Dayton

Faith, Griswold

Faith, Harcourt

American, Hawarden

Christ, Jefferson

Trinity, Linn Grove

Augustana, Manson

St. John, Merrill

Nain, Newell

St. John, Palmer

St. John, Pomeroy

Grace, Primghar

Our Saviors, Rembrandt

Tabor, Stanton

Strand, Villisca  

Beginning Call Process

First, Algona

Bethlehem, Cherokee

Washington, Duncombe

Christ, Fort Dodge

Immanuel, George

St. Paul, Lakota

St. Paul, Northboro

St. Paul, Renwick

Emmanuel, Shenandoah

Grace, Spirit Lake  

New Start – Mission Developer

Living Faith, Le Mars    

Calls Extended

St. Olaf, Fort Dodge - Jim McColley

Christ rural LeMars/St. Peter, Brunsville - Grace Braun/Collaborative M.Div.

Trinity, Webster City - Jean Morse 

Where Does My Offering Go?