Elected to do the work of the synod

The Synod Council is elected to do the work of the synod between assemblies. Members are nominated by conferences and elected at the synod assembly. The Nominating Committee oversees the nomination and election process.

Synod Council Responsibilities

Four meetings a year and attendance at the Synod Assembly - Meeting schedule includes: a Friday evening and Saturday morning in mid June and three additional Saturday morning plus lunch meetings. These meetings are usually held on the 3rd Saturday of September, the 2nd Saturday of December, and a Saturday in mid March.

Synod Council members may be appointed or elected to serve on synod boards, the finance committee, the Assembly Business Committee, or the Executive Council. Each of these would include additional meetings and responsibilities. However, a council member is not required to accept the appointment or election.

Western Iowa Synod Council Members and Contact Info Listing Below

The officers of this synod are a Bishop, a vice president, a secretary, and a treasurer.

  • Bishop Lorna Halaas - lorna.halaas.rev@wisynod.org
  • Tracy Gayer - Vice President - tracy.gayer@wisynod.org - Lay Male
  • Karen Post - Secretary - karen.post@wisynod.org - Lay Female
  • Michael Jacobson - Treasurer - michael.jacobson@wisynod.org - Lay Male

Non-officers

  • Travis Brincks - ​Tbrincks@gmail.com - Rivers of Grace, Lay Male
  • Lori Clark - Stpaul-mv@msn.com - Rivers of Grace, Lay Female
  • Rev. Scott Dalen - sdalen001@luthersem.edu - At Large, Rostered Minister
  • Larry Hill - hillarr@wctatel.net - Seeds of Faith, Lay Male
  • Ryan Johnson - johnson4@premieronline.net - At Large, Young Adult
  • Mary Jordan - mejordan@cableone.net - Living Waters, Lay Female
  • Denise Lindemann - denisel2010@gmail.com - Seeds of Faith, Rostered Minister
  • Rev. Jim McColley - mijbird@gmail.com - Hands of Hope, Rostered Minister
  • Jon Merritt - merrittj3@gmail.com - Hands of Hope, Lay Male
  • Rev. S. Kim Peterson - ktkso2@netins.net - At Large, Rostered Minister
  • Julie Sievers - jadesiev@ncn.net - Winds of Hope, Lay Female
  • Rev. Marsha Smith - graceupongracexoxo@gmail.com - Living Waters, Rostered Minister
  • Dave Bohnet - lbohnet9@gmail.com - Lutheran Men In Mission, Advisory
  • Sue Boblit - sdboblit@gmail.com WIS Women's Organization, Advisory

Council Minutes