Elected to do the work of the synod

The Synod Council is elected to do the work of the synod between assemblies. Members are nominated by conferences and elected at the synod assembly. The Nominating Committee oversees the nomination and election process.

Synod Council Responsibilities

Four meetings a year and attendance at the Synod Assembly - Meeting schedule includes: a Friday evening and Saturday morning in mid June and three additional Saturday morning plus lunch meetings. These meetings are usually held on the 3rd Saturday of September, the 2nd Saturday of December, and a Saturday in mid March.

Synod Council members may be appointed or elected to serve on synod boards, the finance committee, the Assembly Business Committee, or the Executive Council. Each of these would include additional meetings and responsibilities. However, a council member is not required to accept the appointment or election.

Western Iowa Synod Council Members and Contact Info Listing Below

The officers of this synod are a Bishop, a vice president, a secretary, and a treasurer.

  • Bishop Lorna Halaas - lorna.halaas.rev@wisynod.org
  • Tracy Gayer - Vice President - tracy.gayer@wisynod.org - Lay Male
  • Dagna Simmons - Secretary - dagna.simmons@wisynod.org - Lay Female
  • Michael Jacobson - Treasurer - michael.jacobson@wisynod.org - Lay Male

Non-officers

  • Travis Brincks - ​Tbrincks@gmail.com - Rivers of Grace, Lay Male
  • Rev. Scott Egbers - scott.egbers.rev@wisynod.org - Living Waters, Rostered Minister
  • Rev. Joy Gonnerman - joy.gonnerman@gmail.com - At Large, Rostered Minister
  • Larry Hill - hillarr@wctatel.net - Seeds of Faith, Lay Male
  • Tara Hoogendoorn - tara.hoogendoorn@wlwildcats.org - At Large, Youth
  • Rev. Lisa Johnson - lisajohnson.saintjohn@gmail.com - Rivers of Grace, Rostered Minister
  • Ryan Johnson - johnson4@premieronline.net - At Large, Young Adult
  • Denise Lindemann - denisel2010@gmail.com - Seeds of Faith, Rostered Minister
  • Rev. Jim McColley - mijbird@gmail.com - Hands of Hope, Rostered Minister
  • Terry Mogensen - annieangel51@gmail.com - Hands of Hope, Lay Female
  • Julie Sievers - jadesiev@ncn.net - Winds of Hope, Lay Female
  • Christie Vanderholm - cvan@myfmtc.com - Abundant Fields, Lay Female
  • Sherry Williams - swilla100@gmail.com - At Large, Lay Female
  • Gary Zeman - z@lutheranlakeside.com - Winds of Hope, Lay Male
  • Dave Bohnet - lbohnet9@gmail.com - Lutheran Men In Mission, Advisory
  • Nancy Peters -  nancyp@nethtc.net - WIS Women's Organization, Advisory

Council Minutes